Skip to content

M-Sac and L-Sac Take on L-Town

November 18, 2010

London is cold. And wet.

Okay, so we all know that. Fine. But how about in the dead of summer, you ask?

My answer: London is cold. And wet.

Apparently, I had the luck of visiting it immediately after it experienced a heat spell. Now that might have been a cup of tea I would’ve enjoyed to drink. Instead, I experienced the bottoms-of-your-pants-wet, broken-umbrella, cold-to-the-bone, wet side of England. Good thing, if you’re one who likes to get the full immersion experience of a culture. Bad thing,if you’re someone (cough, me) who is plagued with goosebumps, even as you lay on the scorching South Beach Miami sand in August. (true story)

It’s okay though, I’m far from complaining. (Okay maybe I’m complaining just a bit). But the bad weather was more than made up for. For one, I was ecstatic to be greeted by my best friend and sister Mel Sac who had spent the past few (8) months living on the other side of the world from me. I still remember quite clearly when she left. It didn’t hit me that she would be gone for so long until she was, well, gone. Let’s just say I was on a slight (understatement) emotional roller coaster that day (week). Oh, and have I ever mentioned I’m a crier? At least my dry winter skin got treated to a healthy dose of moisture.

After being yelled at by the first English woman I encountered (for taking a photo in the duty-free store), I hastily stepped into the crowded Heathrow arrivals terminal, already excited for a long-awaited reunion, only to be pleasantly surprised by this!!!:

Coolest sister ever? I agree!

So now you can see why I didn’t so mind the weather.

And let me tell you, London is more than prepared to assist freezing tourists in need of a good warming up. There was no shortage of comforting dishes to warm our bellies and get us ready to face a few more hours of city-touring, subway stair climbing, and umbrella battling. I came ready to gorge on all the stuffed pies, pasties, breaded fish, mushy pies, and warming tea that I could handle. And trust me, when your counting solely on your feet and your Oyster card to take you around the sprawling city in only 5 short days, you would have more than enough room to take it all in.

To be honest, as a new enthusiast in the foodie world, I embarked on this European adventure with the intention of hunting down the best food stories/spots/treats that I could manage. I was surprised (and slightly disappointed with myself) that my mood changed immediately upon arrival. So, I apologize for not being the great reporter I intended to be. But I’m sure you could understand that Mel Sac and I had a lot of catching up to do, that my fingers were too cold to take out of my pockets that often and that we anticipated being bikini-clad for the next 11 days.

Without further delay, here are my tips on staying warm in London (in Mid August…cue the Alanis Morissette)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well that’s it for Euro 2010 folks. I hope you enjoyed my post as much as I enjoyed sharing it with you. (Though with the extreme speed and ease I navigate WordPress, I now have a crick in my neck) I promised my bank account I wouldn’t return this summer, but for once I am proud to say that I am definitely a person to go back on my word!

Cheers!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

