Skip to content

Bon Voyage a Moi!

August 9, 2010

This one will be quick, as my time here is limited. In a few short hours I will be heading to one of my favourite places on earth, Toronto Pearson International Airport. Yes, I typed that correctly. I find something so special about the airport. The emotion it evokes in you, the excitement it brings. The feeling you get when it finally hits you–this is it, so it begins, finally I am gone…How perfect is a place that is a crossroad between reality and a fantasy just waiting for your discovery? The type of comfortable anxiety it lends, still (semi) being at home, awaiting the uncomfortable experience to come of uncovering something(s) mysterious and completely foreign…

 First I will be heading to London-Town to reunite with my soul mate, M-Sac, to have tea with the Queen and sing karaoke with the Spice Girls…(…ughh…not quite…but a girl can dream right?)  I must say I’m looking most forward to Camden Market, Brick Lane and our night-time walking ghost tour! Our schedule is tight, which only means all excitement, all the time. Then we will be off to beautiful Taormina, on the Sicilian coast, where we will meet up with two other (twin) sisters T Bagg and A Bagg. We’re already planning on a hike up Mount Etna (a winery tour and distillery tour making the unnecessary vacation excercise worth while), a boat tour around a couple Aeolian Islands, lots of food explorations, and even more beach time where M-Sac and I will be able to revive our tanning skills previously honed a la Terracina 2009.

I find my departure days to always be a weird mixture of emotions. It’s definitely best summed-up as nervous excitement. I don’t know what I’m nervous about, to be honest. I’m by no means afraid to fly (as I usually always sleep off the entirety of the journey), I’m not nervous that it will be a flop (with M-Sac, there is never a shortage of good times to be shared) and, despite it being my the first time ever to do so, I’m not nervous to be journeying alone. I assume the nervous energy comes from a break in my oh-so-sacred schedule. The one I live and swear by daily, and only accept breaks in if their approved by my conscience and planned out far in advance. The workout one and the food one, the one that makes me feel strong and fit (mostly) everyday, and rewards me with treats when I’m a good little girl. But, it’s only just a little itty bit of nervousness that I’m battling, stemming from the workout-alcoholic side of my brain. Europe (any kind of travel, really) is the kind of break from it that I will always find room for, at any moment, on any kind of notice, for any length of time. There will be a few things that will make the return home worthwhile, though, things that I will miss the most–my evening meals and evening desserts spent couch-side with Mama and a good not-always-so-good movie, nights out with the girls, and our daily BBM messages, and, of course, TV sessions, cook-outs and sleepovers with GF. I guess I can only look forward to spoiling myself with too-much of all of them (is that possible) upon my homecoming.

So, Bon Voyage a Moi! I’m positive I will have many stories to share with you, many meals to tease your appetites with. I will keep you updated as much as I can, with whatever energy I can stammer after days of trekking through London streets, afternoons of draining my energy under the Sicilian sun and evenings of too much pub beer and local volcanic wine.

Have a wonderful August! xoxo

-la femme

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 12:49 am

    Have a great time on your trip, take lots of pictures and come home to us with lots of stories!!

  2. August 19, 2010 6:14 pm

    Good luck! can’t wait to see some pictures!

  3. August 23, 2010 6:25 pm

    Can’t wait to hear all about the vacay!

  4. August 23, 2010 6:26 pm

    Oh, and Sicily has been on my list forever!

Leave a Reply

