Skip to content

Through the Looking Glass Tuesdays

July 28, 2010

“Now I’m opening out like the largest telescope that ever was! Good-bye, feet!” (for when she looked down at her feet, they seemed to be almost out of sight, they were getting so far off). “Oh, my poor little feet, I wonder who will put on your shoes and stockings for you now, dears?…”

Poor Alice…at that size you’ll never get yourself through the garden door.

Maybe we need to learn how to listen to our stomach, instead of our eyes….(or those cunning little cakes…)

Perhaps this is the result of too many un-birthday parties?

“I told you butter wouldn’t suit the works!”…..perhaps we should have listened to the Hatter, Alice.

Poor Alice, letting her carb cravings get the best of her….

Not to worry, I understand. In fact, I am one femme who loves her breads–savoury or sweet…. But being the health junkie I am, I have had to find some alternatives to satisfying my cravings.

“I’ve had nothing yet,” Alice replied in an offended tone: “so I can’t take more.”

This one is for you, my dear friend Alice….don’t worry you’ll never have to go hungry at another Mad Tea Party again. And coming in at just under 100 calories each, you don’t even have to feel bad slapping on just a little smear of warm butter…or jam…or both….

Un-Fattening Whole Wheat Un-Birthday Approved Mad Hatter Tea Party Peach Scones

(adapted, but modified, from the May 2010 issue of Canadian Living, Best Biscuits and Scones)

2 cups of Robin Hood Nutri Blend Flour (note-although this may be the healthier choice, I would probably use all-purpose flour if I were to do it again)

¼ packed brown sugar (this is how much I used, you may need a bit more if you want them on the sweeter side, or you can use granulated sugar)

4 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

5 tablespoons cold margarine

1 egg

About ¾ cup of 1% milk

¼ cup peaches, minced

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. With a pastry blender, or 2 knives, cut in the margarine until the dough is nothing but coarse crumbs.

Beat the egg in a glass measuring cup. Add in enough milk to make the mixture 1 cup, stirring to blend.  Reserve two tablespoons of the milk mixture. Add in the peaches.

Pour the rest of the wet mixture into the centre of the dry mixture all at once. Stir with a fork just until the dough comes together to form a wet mixture. Using your hands, shape into a ball. (I must have done something wrong here because this proved impossible. My hands immediately took enough of the door onto them to form a thin pair of gloves). Transfer your dough (or sticky blob, in my case) to a floured work surface. (Attempt) to flatten it into a bout ¾ inch thickness.

At this point, the recipe says to use a round cutter to make circles of your dough. As my batch wasn’t cooperating, I simply used two spoons to make dysfunctional blobs on a floured and parchment –lined baking sheet.  I baked mine in my (monster) of an oven at 425 for about 11 minutes and it was just right. The recipe says to bake them until risen, golden to the touch, which should be about 14 minutes.

 

**A Quick Note**

The inspiration for this post was two-fold…or perhaps three-fold. For starters, in lieu of my imminent trip to London, I have been wanting to make a traditional British High Tea dessert (to get me in the mood). I have also been on the look-out for new fun things to do with my blog, as my posts are starting to put me to sleep as I write them. Being the 12 (or 8, really) year old at heart that I am, I decided that cooking and baking dishes inspired by my favourite Disney Classics would be the perfect fit.  My first experience needed no vision-enhancing tool to be discovered. You see, in order to further get myself into spirit, I have been indulging in a great read (even despite it’s Level 2 status) Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll. Now, how perfectly fitting is it that my favourite part of this tale just so happens to be the Mad Hatter Tea Party? It was a match made in Queen Victoria heaven. So was born Through-the-Looking-Glass Tuesdays.  A theme I hope to keep up, as best as I can, with a new Disney Dish every week. 

As I’m currently always watching my diet, due to the fact that I’ll be beach bound shortly as well, I decided to make some adjustment to the traditional scone recipe to make these ones a la bonne santé. The result: they were alright. I wouldn’t use the Nutri Flour blend again, as it left a weird aftertaste. And I might had just a smidge more butter, but to be honest, with the jam and/or butter, it doesn’t even really need it. Constitency and flavour wise, though, they are all I expected a (healthy) scone to be! They were enjoyed with a dollop of blueberry jam, alongside a good tea and good company at the house of TL, AP, LP et al…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 10:22 pm

    Yum! These look delish!
    http://www.poolovesboo.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

