Skip to content

La Femme Robin Hood: Princess of Thieves (and brownie recipes!)

November 27, 2010

Brownie? Chocolate Spread? Whatever it is...it worked!

So week one of the new gig has come and gone. I would’ve wrote earlier but it seems the abyss of spare time I once swam in has evaporated from around me without much notice. It’s funny how change comes so quickly. I used to use meal-times as markers and countdown the minutes leading up to them. Dessert and camomile tea was the signature signal that it was nearing bedtime…tomorrow would come, countdown clock would start again. Now I find myself grabbing at every spare moment that I can find, holding tight to its buoyancy, praying silently not to let everything drown me in the new sea of busyness.

Please, please don’t misread my intended tone. I am by no means complaining. In fact, I

couldn’t be happier. I haven’t been happier in months–maybe even since graduation. (Okay, maybe I wish my gym schedule would work out the way I preferred but I guess I’ll just have to adjust). I love my job (so far), the people I work with are so nice, my face hurts by the end of the day from smiling so much, the tasks I’m responsible for are fun (especially for the nerd that I am so proud that I am), I get to be in one my favourite parts of the city daily (that, might I add, grants me access to and from transit without having to battle the unruly Canadian weather), one of my desk neighbours just so happens to be my amazing cousin, Twin, anndddd most importantly, I actually sleep at night now. A feet I have been trying unsuccessfully to conquer for quite some time.

Needless to say, I have been in particularly high spirits all week long.

Good moods seem to always come accompanied with the urge to bake. So bake is what I decided to do this weekend.

I found myself especially busy with other, less meaningful, ventures last year around this time, and since GF was and is always busy with work himself (my much more dedicated and hardworking other half), we would always save our Saturday nights and Sunday days to spend together, cooking in his basement, normally. Me, the ever so festive one, would surprise GF, the one with the ever so big sweet tooth, with  a different box of holiday chocolates every week. Since that was so well received last year, I knew I needed to make it an annual tradition. But this year I wanted to

switch it up….so switch it up I did. In replacement of the boxed goods, I have decided to bring with me a baked treat of my own making…..

A  few weeks of busy social calendars for both us–birthdays, out-of-town hockey games, etc–kept us apart for the past couple weekends, but tonight we will resume our traditional Saturdays. With our date came the need for me to create my first gift of Christmas.

After drooling profusely over an episode of The Best Thing I Ever Ate on the Food Network, I knew I had to try to recreate the Salty Caramel Brownies from Baked in NYC. I searched high and low and finally, I found and stole the recipe from “She’s Becoming Doughmesstic”‘s blog.

Oh…and I cheated…yup…I decided to steal a little bit of time back, and used a boxed brownie mix. Don’t judge me, okay? I’ve been robbed enough this week…just call me the Princ(ess) of Thieves…stealing back from those wealthy enough to bake the world from scratch…

The result?

Well, that wasn’t so fortunate. Apparently I baked them in too big of a dish, and they came out extremely thin. And extremely moist which means that I couldn’t quite cut them into brownies, but you could spread them on your bread like Nutella, a salty caramel-ly Nutella.

I am sometimes I bit clumsy in the kitchen. I’m still learning. And Mom Sac wasn’t around to help me out:(

But the flavour was still there!! That much I promise you. Slap some vanilla ice cream on the side, and you got yourself one gooey, fudgey, caramelly, salty, dessert.

So here they are, the Sea Salt Caramel Brownies…I still urge you to try them, you might have more luck than I did!

How the Baked Brownies are supposed to look....

MY extra-extra-EXTRA gooey version:)

Sea Salt Caramel Brownies

Sea Salt Caramel – adapted from Baked Cookbook

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1/4 cup sour cream

In a small saucepan, combine the cream and the salt.  Simmer over very low heat until the salt is dissolved. set aside.

In a medium saucepan combine the sugar and corn syrup carefully. They will not combine well until the sugar begins to melt. Cook over high heat until an instant-read thermometer reads 350 degrees, 6 to 8 minutes.  Without a thermometer, just pull the sugar off the heat when it is a medium goldish brown – it will continue to cook in the heat of the pan. Better to pull it too early than too late. Remove from the heat and let cool for one minute. Important note: Don’t let it cool for more than one minute. Why? You ask? Well unless you want to work through harden candy until your arm falls off like I did, then I wouldn’t advise it!

Add the cream mixture and the vanilla to the sugar mixture.  Whisk in the sour cream.  Let the caramel cool to room temp, then follow the brownie instructions. Transfer to an airtight container and refrigerate any leftover caramel. it makes a great ice cream topping or tastes great straight out of the jar.

For the brownies:

Buy Duncan Hines Fudge Brownie mix. Follow instructions on the box. Spread half into your greased baking dish, pour the caramel on top, and cover with the rest of the brownie mix. Bake for about 15-20 minutes (or more, depending on the size of your dish, I used a 9″x11″ so it didn’t take too long) at 350.

 

When I was still hopeful about the results....That's my homemade caramel...mmmm:)

That’s IT!

Easy peasy.

And I promise you will have the rest of your Saturday afternoon to enjoy at your leisure!

Happy weekending:)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 12:31 pm

    Thanks for visiting Fit Foodista and for adding me to your Blog Roll! I’ve read just a few of your posts so far; but based on the good writing and delicious looking food, I’m looking forward to future posts!
    Best,
    Michele

  2. December 1, 2010 7:00 pm

    Good day I was luck to approach your theme in google
    your Topics is superb
    I obtain much in your blog really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really marvelous
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

